It’s Alomst Here: NanoWriMo

Yes, November is almost upon us. In only 30 more day people around the globe will pick up their pens, sit at their computers, and get ready to write. NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) is when thousands of people throw caution to the wind and start writing a novel; in only 30 days. One month, 50,000 words. Thousands of participants.

Last year in November was the first time I had heard of NaNoWriMo, and I resolved to participate the next time it came around. Over the last year (as you know, if you read my last post,) I have been working on my novel, Jaded.

Jaded trilogy/darkroomdiva.wordpress.com

I hope to have at least the second draft done by November  so that I can focus on my NaNoWriMo novel, which I’m still trying to find an idea for. If I don’t have Jaded finished by that time I will still put it away and start anew. Then when the month is over I will go back and finish it up.

NaNoWriMo is just a fun way to get your idea out on paper, without worrying about all the strife of editing until after the month is over. It’s something to do to get your idea out, and fast, without a thought on plot or  twists in your story. It’s a Seat-of-the-pants style of writing; where you only have a fragment of an idea and work without any planning. That way your story plots and twists surprise you as much as they surprise the main character in your book! I usually write this way anyway, but it takes me mush more time!

If you want to participate in NaNoWriMo, then I recommend visiting nanowrimo.org and signing up, that’s what I intend to do.

2 thoughts on “It’s Alomst Here: NanoWriMo

  1. Hailey I continue to be surprised by you! You are truly talented. :) And I am intrigued by this NaNoWriMo……thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

