Writer Woes

2015/01/img_0299.jpg

Each notebook/folder/binder holds a different story. (Some even hold two, *gasp!*) This is my accumulation of just two years of writing, not to mention a couple of stories I have on my computer.
Out of these, only one has made it to the second draft, third draft, and on up. This story is the first in a trilogy; but what about the other six to seven that I started but never finished?
Alas, such is the life of a writer.
You’ll start a book, decide you like a different idea better, start on that, go back to that other story you abandoned, start editing a blog post, find a book you never knew you started…and on and on and on.
One book, from one of these notebooks/folders/binders, actually made it. It is alive and thriving in its new form(s). I am having two people edit this manuscript for me, and I hope to have it published by March. (I’m self-publishing it).
How do you get past the start, stop, start again trouble? Wait for it…
Just write!
When you start a novel, keep on going until that thing has made it through the first draft. But what if you get an amazing idea while you’re writing this other book?
Jot it down on a piece of paper/phone notes and save it for later. That way, if you finish your first draft, you can start on your next adventure!
This is how I do it, how do you?

7 thoughts on “Writer Woes

  1. I can relate! I use my handwritten notebooks for ideas, outlining, and thinking my way through the next scene. Or if I have a problem, I just write about it. I use the computer for actual writing, and I just keep pushing myself to finish, even if that means going back at a later date. Keep moving forward!

    • Thank you for commenting!
      *Sigh* I think it applies to most writers, whether they want it or not-we’re just a creative bunch aren’t we? I often have many stories I wish to write, but my main priority is to the one that’s getting ready to be published.
      I will, as any true writer would, keep moving forward! Thank you.

  2. I use OneNote and write down new ideas when I have them. I have written one novel already. It wasn’t very good.
    My notes are extremely organized.
    I am working on my second novel. I just started writing (it took a long time to outline).

    • That’s cool. I’ve also written my first novel, and it’s been an amazing journey to publish it. I’m sure your first draft might not have been good, but I bet if you keep going it’ll turn out great!
      I too am an organized writer, so I get you there. Best of luck with your second novel! What’s it about, if I may ask?

      • First off, my first novel really just taught me how to write. I don’t plan on publishing it.
        My second novel is based off of the world and characters I created for my first novel. It is high fantasy.
        The protagonist, Four, has to escape from slavery with a girl named Enna. She despises him. Four promised Enna’s uncle that he would help her escape in return for a book of maps. Enna hides secrets about her identity from him that make their escape much more difficult.
        You can read more about it on my blog http://www.Avinel.WordPress.com.

      • That’s a cool plot you’ve got there. I’ll be sure to check out your blog sometime soon…I’m intrigued. I also write fantasy, and it’s my favorite genre to read in! Happy writings.

Leave a Reply

